Showing posts with label contests. Show all posts
Showing posts with label contests. Show all posts

Saturday, July 5, 2014

Ridgeline Literary Alliance Announces the Winners of the 2014 Young Writers Contest

Ridgeline Literary Alliance (RLA), a newly organized association to encourage writers in Western North Carolina and North Georgia, is proud to announce the winners of the 2014 Young Writers contest, which was sponsored by RLA and the Young Writers of Western North Carolina. 

Winners have been invited to read their work at the RLA/North Carolina Poetry Society (NCPS) reading in Franklin, NC, on July 19, beginning at 2:00 p.m. The event will be held at the Community Facilities Building, 2:00 p.m., July 19. In addition to the winning students, North Carolina poets Glenda Beall and Susan Lefler will read. 

Directions are as follows: From Hwy 64 in Franklin, exit at Hwy 441, go south about 1 mile, see facility on left across from Whistle Stop Mall. This event is free and open to the public.

All the winning prose and poetry from the contest will be published on RLA's website, and as a special student section in a printed anthology that RLA is planning. More details on the anthology will be available on the website soon.

Mary Ricketson, President, of Ridgeline Literary Alliance, said she hoped that all who entered, will enter their submissions again next year. “Not every entry can win, but every entry was a privilege to read. Keep writing.” was her advice to the students.

Winners of the 2014 RIDGELINE LITERARY ALLIANCE Student Writing Contest

Poetry High School winners:
1st Place: Misty Morin, Hayesville High School, "Silence"
2nd Place: Stephanie Howe, Murphy High School, "Senses"

Poetry Middle School winners:
1st Place: Skyler Crubaugh, The Learning Center!, untitled “the early year celery . . .”
2nd Place: Nolan McRae, The Learning Center!, untitled “I work so hard . . .”
3rd Place: Sydney Bolyard, The Learning Center!, “The Girl I Am”

Prose High School winners:
1st place: Kenyon Marasco, Tri-County Early College, “My Proving Ground”
2nd place: Morgan Yigdal , Northwood High School, “Saying Goodbye” 
3rd: Haley Garrett, Hayesville High School, “The Way to Hayesville”

Prose Middle School winners:
1st place: Lucille Crayton, The Learning Center!, “Finding Home”
2nd place: Katelyn Jones, Murphy Middle School, also entitled “Finding Home”
3rd place: Brie Dube, The Learning Center!, “A Journey Out of My World”

Sunday, May 18, 2014

Enter the Mountain Memories Essay Contest to Win a Grandfather Mountain Prize Package

Share your favorite mountain memory for a chance to win a VIP visit for four to Grandfather Mountain, along with a Bridge Club membership to return again and again throughout the year to make new mountain memories.

The winning package,  valued at approximately $875, includes:
  • Admission for four to Grandfather Mountain in Linville, N.C.
  • Lunch for four at Mildred's Grill on Grandfather Mountain.
  • Personal Behind-the-Scenes Animal Habitat Tour OR guided trail hike with an interpretive ranger.
  • Two-night stay for four at Chetola Resort Lodge in Blowing Rock, N.C.
  • $30 gift certificate to Foggy Rock Eatery & Pub in Blowing Rock, N.C.
  • Group membership to Grandfather Mountain Bridge Club, good for free admission for six and other perks including discounts in the park for 365 days from date of issue.
Click here for more information and the contest entry form.

Saturday, December 29, 2012


The Sixth Annual Press 53 Open Awards Accepting Entries Until March 31, 2013

5 Categories, 3 Winners in Each: Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short-Short Story, Short Story, Novella (Finalists and Winners Announced No Later Than June 28, 2013)

5 Industry-Professional Judges (see below)

5 Beautiful Etched-Glass Awards (Personalized award certificates for Second Prize and Honorable Mention)

13 Opportunities for Publication: First Prize, Second Prize, and Honorable Mention in Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short-Short Story, Short Story, and First Prize in Novella will be published in the 2013 Press 53 Open Awards Anthology

Entering is now easier using Submittable, the free online submission manager! For complete details and entry guidelines, visit

Meet Our Judges:

Poetry, judged by Kelly Davio, author of the poetry collection Burn This House (Red Hen Press), and editor of LA Review: Three poems judged as a group.

Flash Fiction, judged by Jane Ciabattari, former president of the National Book Critics Circle, author of the short story collection Stealing the Fire (Canios Editions): Fiction up to 750 words.

Short-Short Story, judged by David James Poissant, multi-award-winning author with forthcoming story collection and novel from Simon & Schuster: Fiction of 751-2000 words.

Short Story, judged by Robin Black, author of If I loved you, I would tell you this (Random House): Fiction of 2001-5000 words.

Novella, judged by David Abrams, author of Fobbitt (Grove/Atlantic), and editor of The Quivering Pen: Fiction of 12,000-25,000 words.

For complete judges’ bios and entry guidelines, visit

Previous winners of the Press 53 Open Awards who have gone on to publish books with Press 53 include:

Malaika King Albrecht (What the Trapeze Artist Trusts): Second Prize, Poetry 2009

Ryan Stone (Best Road Yet): First Prize, Short Story 2009

Amy Willoughby-Burle (Out Across the Nowhere): First Prize, Flash Fiction 2010

Kurt Rheinheimer (Finding Grace): Second Prize, Short Story 2010

Ray Morrison (In a World of Small Truths): First Prize, Short Story 2011

Nahal S. Jamir (In the Middle of Many Mountains, forthcoming Spring 2013): Second Prize, Flash Fiction 2012