A Day for Writers 2019 - Presenters and Registration form

Sylva, NC, August 24, 2019,

C. Hope Clark, Joseph Bathanti, David Joy, Karen Holmes, Carol Crawford, Pat Vestal, Katie Winkler, Meagan Lucas

9:00 - 4:30, fee includes lunch, coffee, drinks and pastries
Copy registration form and mail with check or money order to:
NCWN-West, % Glenda Beall,
PO Box 843, Hayesville, NC 28904

Register online at www.ncwriters.org before August 19.

Check Sidebar of this site for Pages:
A Day for Writers 2019

A Day for Writers 2019 Registration Form

Showing posts with label NCWN writing contests. Show all posts
Showing posts with label NCWN writing contests. Show all posts

Friday, November 28, 2008


Deadlines are near. Get your entries into the contests listed below before it is too late. Let's see some Netwest writers among the winners next year.

NCWN Writing Contests

Written by Ed Southern
Tuesday, 18 November 2008 16:43

The deadlines for the North Carolina Writers' Network's writing competitions are fast approaching.
Each year, the Network awards more than $30,000 in prizes, honoraria, and stipends through its four writing contests. These contests are an excellent opportunity for writers to gain exposure and publication for themselves and their work. Network members receive a discount on the entry fees.
Follow the highlighted links for further information on the following competitions, including submission guidelines:
The Rose Post Creative Nonfiction Competition encourages the creation of lasting nonfiction work that is outside the realm of conventional journalism. Subjects may include traditional categories such as reviews, travel articles, profiles or interviews, place/history pieces, or culture criticism. The first-, second-, and third-place winners will receive $300, $200, and $100, respectively. Additionally, the Rambler magazine will consider the winner for publication. Submissions must be postmarked by November 30.

The Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize honors internationally celebrated North Carolina novelist Thomas Wolfe. The winner receives $1,000 and possible publication in the Thomas Wolfe Review. Submissions must be postmarked by December 20.

The Randall Jarrell Poetry Competition is named for UNC-Greensboro's legendary poet and teacher. The winner receives $200, and publication of the winning poem in the Crucible literary journal. Submissions must be postmarked by January 31.

The Doris Betts Fiction Prize awards the first-place winner with a prize of $250. Winners and finalists will be considered for publication in the North Carolina Literary Review. Submissions must be postmarked by February 1.

Past winners of NCWN contests include Malcolm Campbell, David Poston, Alex Grant, and Marjorie Hudson.